Cuba 2016 Webinar

A fascinating “experiment” is underway just 90 miles from the coast of Florida. In 2014, the Cuban government created a provisional mechanism for the first privately owned businesses in its post-revolution economy through cooperatives. Although agricultural co-ops have played a role for decades in the agrarian and agroecology developments across their country, this new provision approved 500 worker co-ops–– a combination of converted businesses spun-off by the Cuban government, and start-up efforts from Cuban citizens.

To date, 350 of those worker co-ops have launched, and the Cuban government may convert up to 30% of their economy if their worker co-op statute becomes law in the next congress.

The USFWC, in partnership with NCBA–CLUBA, NRECA, Organic Valley, and several other US co-op organizations participated in a delegation last June to visit these businesses up close and learn how we can support them, and what lessons we can exchange as our respective worker co-op sectors grow.
Join us on 10/27 at 4pm EST, 3pm CST, 1pm PST with Pedro Maturano of The Arizmendi Association, Anh-Thu Nguyen the Director of Special Projects for DAWI, and Eric Leenson whose engagement and support of Solidarity Economy movements especially in Cuba stretches back decades. We will also be joined briefly by special guest cooperative documentary filmmakers Mark Dworkin and Melissa Young!


Register Here.

Posted in News.